mac advice needed again

twobears

I managed finally to reboot my mac in safe mode and, fingers crossed, it is working ok-ish at the moment. It still needs the hard disk drive swapping out but I can't do that myself. I am pretty sure that the HDD is corrupted, although I've no idea why but I have also noticed that the machine seems very hot and the fan is coming on more than normal. Has anyone experienced this problem before? Fan isn't actually on at the moment but there is more noise than usual and I am mystified as I am not a techie and I don't like it when things go wrong :thumbdown:

Aaaargh, you've noticed that they are out to get me too! Paranoid, moi? I think not :lol:

Seriously, the fan is on all the time and it isn't normally. It's getting really hot too (hence the fan working overtime I guess) which is ok in one way because I don't have to switch the heating on ...

without knowing to much about age and previous problems and that. if its running hot a good start place is to open all available openings on the macbook/laptop (vents, slots, Drives, covers etc) and run a the hoover hose over them all this will suck any dust from the internals and off any components that may cause it to run hot. may not fix your problem but should do this once a year to laptops and games consoles anyway.

As above ^^, there is a known fault with certain Macbooks that can overheat, when they overheat they can damage the mother board or the video card. Make sure you don't operate it on a cushion or the bed or anywhere else for long periods of time where there is limited air circulation. There was a warranty recall but I can't remember for which model. Do a google for your model and overheating/video card issues, it's also well documented on the Apple Support site. Hope this helps. Good luck with it :):thumbs: