Any oil rig workers out there?

Woody

Hi all. As per title really. Im quite interested in moving in to this line of work, but unsure what the job is like on a day to day basis. My background.... Im a multi-skilled engineering technician. Im skilled in the electrical, mechanical, pneumatics and PLC fields, but would be looking at going on th rig as an electrician.

I want to know the day to day jobs electricians do on the rig?

What its like working on the rig?

Is it enjoyable?

Is it a steady job?

Any help or advice would be fantastic :thumbs:

Hi mate, I am an ops tech but I work closely with all the sparkies out here. It is a very good job if you can handle the time away. The majority of work I sign for is the day to day stuff such as close inspections/HAE inspections, lighting, glanding/terminating, motor isolations/installations the usual. You would need to probably be familiar with high voltage gear as our generators put out 14kv and also your compex needs to be up to date.

Life is pretty good, you will usually be on a 2 week offshore 3 week at home rota, offshore will be 7 days a week 12 hours a day so it's long days but maintainence dept is usually kept quite busy so days go in quite quick.

Money is pretty good too I'm not 100% but I think most of the sparks on here are on around 52K so not too shabby really. What I have said above only really applies to core crew members, you can go as contract ad hoc but work is unsteady and your are not guarenteed a rotation.

I would advise that you look into doing your offshore survival/medial (petrofac training/falk nutek) which is around £800, most employers will look for offshore experience so if you have done your survival off your own back then it will look good in your favour.

Have a look on websites such as oilcareers, petrofac, aker solutions, psn, wood group and the likes.

Good luck with the job hunt.

R